Summer Heat

Today’s weather is perfect. It is a little above 80 degrees. I am enjoying it. There is an upcoming problem though… that would be the next week. Temperatures are supposed to be near 100 this weekend and pretty much all next week. That is hot. To make matters worse, my oldest has a soccer tournament this weekend, so we’ll be sitting in the sun most of the day. That is going to be rough.

So I have been wondering a lot lately about the “afterlife”. What is in store for us? Generally speaking, I believe we die, go to Heaven (hopefully) or Hell (please not). That said though, I tend to believe there are ghosts and I do believe I save seen some. I will save those stories for another time. So that leads me to believe there is a between state. Where you haven’t ascended to Heaven nor have you been banished to Hell. I have also heard stories and watched movies about people believe they have lived and can recall their past lives. I don’t really believe that. While I believe that we may be given an opportunity to come back to Earth to live another life, if we wind up in Heaven, I find the nonsense about past life recall…. well nonsense. If you believe in God, than you believe God is powerful enough to make that memory one that cannot be recovered.

While I would like to think death is like a skinemax movie (I can roam the Earth, drinking beer, hanging out with my friends and watching girls undress) I am guessing it is not like that at all. I have a hard time imagining what it will be like. Part of me believes that I will become this mass of light and energy, then the Catholic in me kicks in and I believe I will ascend to Heaven in my bodily form to live in bliss for eternity. I like that idea a lot. I don’t know if I would want to return to Earth. The endless possibilities of returning to a worse life are enough to think I will stay right where I am. I have lived a good life so far. I have a loving family, I never really wanted for much in my childhood. I wasn’t rich by any means, but my parents always worked hard to provide for us. I have a lot of complaints, but in terms of the life I was given and the family and friends I have, I have been truly blessed.

Now, if I cannot go to Heaven, I will take option 2, hanging out with my friends, drinking beer and watching naked ladies. Hopefully I have a nice pair of kicks.

2 responses to “Summer Heat

  1. I didnt think they would put the kids through a tournament if it was too hot….its 60 here, unreal. Now be open minded about this book ‘a conversation with god’ by neale walsh and get that catholic shit out of your brain..hey that morimoto beer thats not the iron chef is it

    • It is the Iron Chef. They have done a few beers with him, but the soba one if my favorite. You’ll have to look around for some. If you come visit, we can go to the brewery.

Leave a comment